Grand Bahama Cruise Port: The Freeport Guide
The Grand Bahama cruise port in Freeport is an industrial harbour, and that single fact shapes your whole day ashore. Unlike Nassau, nothing touristy sits within walking distance of the pier, so every outing starts with a taxi, a cruise shuttle or a booked excursion. This guide covers where ships dock, what transport costs, the main beaches and sights, and the big changes now reshaping the island. For the routes and ships that bring you here, see the guide to Bahamas cruises from Miami. Prices are in US dollars, which the Bahamian dollar matches one to one. The bookable tours are compared on Bahamas cruise from Miami.
Colourful shops and bars stand beside the cruise terminal at Freeport, Grand Bahama. Photo: Beyond My Ken, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons
Quick answer Freeport port day in brief
The Grand Bahama cruise port, called Lucayan Harbour, sits in an industrial harbour roughly 5 to 12 miles from Port Lucaya, depending on the source, with nothing walkable at the pier, so a shared taxi costing $8 to $12 per person or a $10 to $15 round-trip cruise shuttle is your ticket off the dock.
Key takeaways
- Shared taxis to Port Lucaya run $8 to $12 per person and private taxis $20 to $30, though one 2026 fare guide says $24 to $34 for two passengers. See leaving the port.
- The pick for a beach and snorkel day is the Paradise Cove day pass from $75, which includes round-trip transport from the Freeport cruise dock.
- The Bahamas National Trust lists Lucayan National Park at $15 adult entry, with its hours disputed between Saturday and Sunday only and daily. Read what to do.
- Celebration Key is not this port. It is a Carnival-only destination about 20 to 23 miles away, covered on the Celebration Key page.
The Freeport Cruise Port
Ships on Grand Bahama dock at the Lucayan Harbour Cruise Facility in an industrial harbour that also handles cargo.
Where You Dock
Cruise ships berth at Lucayan Harbour in Freeport Harbour, a working industrial port run through a joint venture between Hutchison Ports FHC and The Port Group. The facility can handle up to 3 cruise ships at once alongside cargo, and it received a $10.9 million redevelopment. The harbour waterway is reported at 52 feet deep, billed as the deepest in the Caribbean.
The cruise lines that call here regularly include Carnival, Royal Caribbean, Norwegian, Celebrity, Crystal, Princess, Windstar and Margaritaville at Sea. Cruise arrivals at Freeport expanded by more than 90 percent compared with 2024, driven partly by Carnival's Celebration Key just up the coast.
Why You Cannot Walk Anywhere
This is the single most important fact about a Freeport port day. The pier sits in an industrial harbour with no attractions, beaches or restaurants in walking distance. Guides put the distance to Port Lucaya anywhere from about 5 miles to 12 miles, and none of that stretch is a stroll.
So budget time and money for transport before you plan anything else. Rideshare apps do not operate on Grand Bahama, so it is taxis, cruise-line shuttles or a pre-booked excursion with pickup. The old shared shuttle from the port no longer runs. Grand Bahama International Airport is about a 15-minute drive from the cruise terminal, which shows how far the dock sits from the tourist zone.
Money and Time at the Port
The Bahamian dollar equals the US dollar and both are accepted interchangeably, so no currency exchange is needed. The Bahamas observes Eastern Time and follows daylight saving, which means no clock change from Miami.
One planning rule matters more than any other here: plan to be back at the ship 30 to 45 minutes before all-aboard, and allow 60 to 90 minutes of buffer if you go to a distant stop such as Lucayan National Park, which sits roughly 20 to 25 miles from the pier. Government taxi rates are $3 for the first quarter mile plus $0.40 for each additional mile, but agree on the fare for your destination before you get in, since quotes vary by source.
Leaving the Port
Every destination on Grand Bahama needs a ride. These are the reported distances and fares from the Lucayan Harbour cruise facility.
Distances, Transport and Fares
The figures below come from cruise-port guides, the taxi fare listings and the operators themselves. Note that sources disagree on some distances and fares, so both figures are shown where they conflict. A shared taxi means you share the vehicle with other passengers heading the same way, which keeps the per-person cost down.
Cruise-line shuttles to Port Lucaya Marketplace run about $10 to $15 round trip per person. Public buses on the island cost $1.50 for adults and $0.50 for children.
| Destination | Distance | How | Cost |
|---|---|---|---|
| Port Lucaya Marketplace | About 5 miles to 10 miles by cruise-port guides, or about 12 miles by the marketplace's own site | Shared taxi, private taxi or cruise shuttle | Shared taxi $8 to $12 per person, private taxi $20 to $30, shuttle $10 to $15 round trip |
| Taino Beach | 6 to 8 miles | Taxi | $10 to $15 per person |
| Xanadu Beach | Closest public beach to the port, short taxi ride | Taxi | Not stated |
| Lucayan National Park | About 25 miles, one guide says about 32 km (20 miles) | Private taxi or tour | $40 to $60 private taxi |
| Paradise Cove and Deadman's Reef | Western Grand Bahama | Tour transport with pickup at the cruise dock | Day pass from $75 with transport included |
| Celebration Key | About 23 miles by road (about 40 minutes), one guide says 20 miles | Carnival ships only, no independent access | Not open to independent visitors |
| Grand Bahama International Airport | About a 15-minute drive | Taxi | Not stated |
Taxis and Shuttles Explained
Two fare sets appear in the guides. Cruise-port guides quote $20 to $30 for a private taxi from the port to Port Lucaya, while one 2026 fare guide puts it at $24 to $34 for 2 passengers plus $4 to $5 for each extra passenger. Treat the higher range as the safe budget for a private cab for two.
Government tariff rates are $3 for the first quarter mile plus $0.40 per additional mile. Cruise shuttles are the simplest option if Port Lucaya Marketplace is your only goal, at about $10 to $15 round trip, but they go to the marketplace only. If you would rather not arrange a ride yourself, an excursion with included transport, such as the Paradise Cove day pass, covers the transfer.
Grand Bahama Port Guide: Leaving Freeport's Industrial Port
How to get from the Freeport cruise pier to the beaches and Port Lucaya. Third-party video by The Port Lowdown. This site did not shoot it and has no relationship with the creator.
What to Do on a Freeport Port Day
With transport sorted, these are the realistic port-day options, ordered from easiest to most ambitious.
Port Lucaya Marketplace
Port Lucaya Marketplace is the default Freeport stop. The marketplace's own site lists 9.5 acres with over 40 specialty stores, more than 120 handicraft and straw vendors, 11 restaurants and 7 bars. An older figure of 12 acres still circulates in some guides, so treat the 9.5-acre number as the current one. Live music plays at Count Basie Square.
It sits a taxi ride from the pier, and cruise-line shuttles run there for about $10 to $15 round trip.
Beaches: Taino, Xanadu and Smith's Point
Carnival's beach guide names Xanadu Beach as the closest public beach to the cruise port, followed by Taino, Fortune, Barbary, Lucaya, Smith's Point and Mather beaches. Taino Beach sits 6 to 8 miles away at $10 to $15 per person by taxi.
One timing note: the Smith's Point fish fry near Taino Beach runs every Wednesday from 6 PM, which is usually after most cruise ships have sailed, so do not build a port day around it.
Lucayan National Park
Lucayan National Park is the island's natural headline and the pick for anyone who wants caves and a wild beach rather than a beach bar. The Bahamas National Trust lists entry at $15 for adults 15 to 59, $10 for seniors 60 and over and $8 for children 6 to 14, all including VAT, with BNT members free. A conflicting guide quotes $12 entry, so carry the higher amount.
The park holds over 6 miles of charted cave tunnels including Ben's Cave and Burial Mound Cave, mangrove boardwalks, and Gold Rock Beach reached by a trail of about 15 minutes inside the park. Hours are the sticking point: the BNT page lists Saturday and Sunday 9 AM to 4 PM, while other guides say daily 9 AM to 4 PM. Check the BNT page or ask your taxi driver before committing, because the park is roughly 20 to 25 miles from the pier at $40 to $60 by private taxi.
Garden of the Groves
Garden of the Groves is a 12-acre botanical garden at Magellan Drive and Midshipman Road. The local tourism site lists it open daily 9 AM to 5 PM with guided tours at 11 AM and 2 PM.
Expect a price and hours conflict here: thegrandbahamas.com says $15 adult and $10 child ages 4 to 12, while other guides say $17 adult, $11 child and hours of 9 AM to 4 PM. Confirm hours before you go rather than planning your day around the 5 PM closing figure. It suits travelers who want a green, shaded couple of hours rather than more beach time.
Paradise Cove and Deadman's Reef
Paradise Cove on western Grand Bahama solves the two biggest port-day problems in one booking. The Paradise Cove Beach Day Pass from Freeport costs from $75, includes round-trip transport with cruise-ship pickups running 1 hour after the ship docks, a lounge chair and snorkeling equipment on Deadman's Reef, which sits about an 8-minute moderate swim from shore. The full day pass adds one beverage, lunch and activities such as kayaking, volleyball and paddleboards, while the snorkel-only option does not include lunch or the beverage.
Paradise Cove's own pricing for its snorkel tour is $65 for adults 12 and up with rental gear or $55 with your own gear, and $45 or $31.50 for children 11 and under, for 2, 4 or 6 hours at the same price. Add-ons are meals for $10, lounge chairs for $8 and umbrellas for $10, and cancellations inside 24 hours get no refund. Group size runs up to 56 and free cancellation ends 24 hours before.
Sources: Bahamas National Trust, Port Lucaya, Paradise Cove, Garden of the Groves
Tables and palms on a terrace at Port Lucaya Marketplace and Marina on Grand Bahama. Photo: Pietro, CC BY-SA 3.0, via Wikimedia Commons
Celebration Key, MSC and Dorian
Grand Bahama is changing fast. Three separate developments explain why the port looks different from a few years ago.
Celebration Key Is Not This Port
Carnival's Celebration Key opened on July 19, 2025 on the south side of Grand Bahama with a first ship carrying over 7,000 passengers. It covers more than 65 acres by one count, with a 1.5-mile stretch of beach and cost $600 million, Carnival's largest investment in an exclusive destination. It is about 23 miles from the Freeport cruise port by road, roughly 40 minutes, though one guide says 20 miles.
The key point for a Freeport port day is that Celebration Key is open only to Carnival guests on Carnival sailings, and non-guests cannot visit independently. If your itinerary says Celebration Key, you never see Freeport at all, and if your itinerary says Freeport, you cannot get into Celebration Key. The Celebration Key page covers the destination in full.
MSC Moves Into Freeport
On April 27, 2026 the Bahamas government and MSC Cruises announced a $450 million cruise terminal on an existing artificial island in Freeport Harbour, with multiple berths, food and retail areas and a transport coordination centre. No construction timeline was given. MSC has a second stake in the island too: CTL Maritime, part of MSC Group, signed to redevelop 20 acres of the former Grand Lucayan's Reef Village into an MSC Beach Club, with demolition begun by late May.
Grand Bahama Shipyard, which sits on the harbour with three floating drydocks up to 82,500 tons, took MSC on as a stakeholder alongside Carnival and Royal Caribbean at 30 percent each.
Dorian, Recovery and the Visitors Coming Back
Hurricane Dorian struck Grand Bahama on September 1, 2019 as a Category 5, killed at least 10 people on the island, flooded the airport to 1.8 m (6 ft) and caused $3.4 billion in damage across the Bahamas. The recovery is still visible: Grand Bahama International Airport still runs from a temporary terminal built after the storm while a government-owned redevelopment is underway, with no new terminal opening date published.
The visitor numbers, though, have turned. Grand Bahama passed one million visitors for the first time in over two decades, reaching about 1.1 million through December, with air arrivals up roughly 20 percent on 2024 and exceeding 2019 by more than 30 percent. Virgin Voyages now calls here too: its Brilliant Lady 4-night route runs Miami, a sea day, Freeport from 9:00 AM to 5:00 PM, then The Beach Club at Bimini from 8:00 AM to 6:00 PM before a 6:30 AM return to Miami.
A Freeport Port Day, Step by Step
A workable day built around the Paradise Cove day pass, with a Port Lucaya finish.
-
Ship arrival
Dock and meet the tour pickup
Paradise Cove cruise pickups run 1 hour after the ship docks at the Freeport cruise dock, so no taxi is needed. The Paradise Cove day pass from $75 includes round-trip transport, a lounge chair and snorkeling equipment on Deadman's Reef.
-
Late morning
Beach and reef time
Deadman's Reef sits about an 8-minute moderate swim from shore. The full day pass adds lunch, one beverage and kayaks, volleyball and paddleboards, so settle in rather than rushing.
-
Early afternoon
Return ride toward Port Lucaya
Take the included transfer back to the cruise dock. Port Lucaya Marketplace is a separate taxi or shuttle ride, a 9.5-acre complex with over 40 stores, 11 restaurants and live music at Count Basie Square.
-
Mid afternoon
Shop and eat
Browse the more than 120 handicraft and straw vendors and the restaurants.
-
Before all-aboard
Taxi back with buffer
Plan to be back at the ship 30 to 45 minutes before all-aboard. A shared taxi from Port Lucaya to the pier runs about $8 to $12 per person and a private taxi $20 to $30, though one guide says $24 to $34 for two passengers.
Freeport Port Day Tips
Five things to do and four to skip, all shaped by the fact that nothing at this port is walkable.
Do
- Do agree on the taxi fare before getting in, because quotes vary by source from $20 to $30 up to $24 to $34 for 2 passengers to Port Lucaya and the fare is agreed up front.
- Do carry US cash, since the Bahamian dollar equals the US dollar and both are accepted interchangeably.
- Do book an excursion with transport included, such as the Paradise Cove day pass from $75, because the transport is included.
- Do build in a 60 to 90 minute buffer for distant stops, since Lucayan National Park is roughly 20 to 25 miles from the pier.
- Do check Lucayan National Park hours before you commit, because the official BNT page lists Saturday and Sunday 9 AM to 4 PM while other guides say daily.
Don't
- Don't expect to walk anywhere from the pier, because the port is an industrial harbour with no attractions in walking distance.
- Don't open a rideshare app, because Uber and Lyft do not operate on Grand Bahama.
- Don't plan a port day around the Smith's Point fish fry, since it runs Wednesdays from 6 PM, usually after ships have sailed.
- Don't try to visit Celebration Key from a Freeport call, because it is exclusively for Carnival ships and non-guests cannot enter.
Grand Bahama Cruise Port FAQ
Where do cruise ships dock on Grand Bahama?
Ships dock at the Lucayan Harbour Cruise Facility in Freeport Harbour, an industrial port that handles up to 3 cruise ships at once alongside cargo and had a $10.9 million redevelopment. It sits roughly 5 to 12 miles from Port Lucaya, depending on the source, with nothing walkable nearby. See the port section.
What is there to do at the Grand Bahama cruise port?
The main options are Port Lucaya Marketplace with over 40 stores and 11 restaurants, Taino Beach at $10 to $15 by taxi, Lucayan National Park with its caves and Gold Rock Beach at $15 adult entry, Garden of the Groves at $15 to $17 adult, and the snorkeling at Deadman's Reef via the Paradise Cove day pass from $75 with transport included.
Can you walk to the beach from the Grand Bahama cruise port?
No. The port is an industrial harbour with no walkable beach, and the closest public beach, Xanadu, still needs a taxi, as does Taino Beach at 6 to 8 miles and $10 to $15 per person. Read leaving the port for fares.
How much is a taxi from the Freeport cruise port to Port Lucaya?
A shared taxi runs about $8 to $12 per person and a private taxi $20 to $30, though one 2026 fare guide quotes $24 to $34 for 2 passengers plus $4 to $5 per extra passenger, so budget toward the top. Government tariff rates are $3 for the first quarter mile plus $0.40 per additional mile. Full figures sit in the transport table.
Is it safe to travel to Freeport, Bahamas on a cruise?
The port day itself follows the same rules as any Bahamas stop, and MSC repeats US Embassy guidance to avoid independent jet ski rentals anywhere in the Bahamas. Stick to taxis, shuttles and booked excursions, agree fares first, and keep the normal city awareness. The itinerary plan keeps you on a well-trodden route.
Is Celebration Key the same as the Freeport cruise port?
No. Celebration Key is Carnival's private destination about 20 to 23 miles from the Freeport cruise port, open only to Carnival guests on Carnival sailings, while Freeport's Lucayan Harbour is a public industrial port that many lines call at. The Celebration Key page compares the two.